Wisdom eBooks Club

Wisdom eBooks Club

Deuterocanonical Books of the Bible

The deuterocanonical scriptural texts are:

  • Tobit 
  • Judith 
  • Additions to Esther (Vulgate Esther 10:4-16:24, but see also Esther in the New American Bible)
  • Wisdom
  • Ben Sira, also called Sirach or Ecclesiasticus
  • Baruch, including the Letter of Jeremiah (Additions to Jeremiah in the Septuagint[2])

Additions to Daniel: 

  • Song of the Three Children (Vulgate Daniel 3:24-90) 
  • Story of Susanna (Vulgate Daniel 13, Septuagint prologue)
  • The Idol Bel and the Dragon (Vulgate Daniel 14, Septuagint epilogue)
  • 1 Maccabees
  • 2 Maccabees
king james bible
  • 1 Esdras (also known as 3 Esdras) 
  • 2 Esdras (also known as 4 Esdras) 
  • Prayer of Manasses
Apocalypse of Ezra
LXX Septuagint

Twelve centuries later, when the Protestants separated from the church, they did not challenge the “canon,” namely the choice of the New Testament books. They did, however, disagree about the deuterocanonical books. Their final determination was to remove them and call them “apocryphal,” that is to say, not authentic.
If we acknowledge that God progressively taught his people throughout the Old Testament days, then we can comprehend the relevance of these books which are works of the last three centuries before Christ. They are the connecting links between the Hebraic books and the New Testament books written in Greek.
The disputes regarding the deuterocanonical books caution us that if there is not a means to establish which are the inspired books, no one will be able to tell decisively what is the word of God and what is not.

Scroll to Top